What marriage means to me…

13 Jul

I wrote this blog over two years ago. It’s funny to read it today, engaged, and be able to look back and smile because I found the one. Thank you David for loving me enough to spend the rest of your life with me. 

When I was a teenager my older brothers predicted that I would be married before my 18th birthday. They said, “You will probably marry a rich professional athlete and be a stay at home mom.” Well, almost a decade later, I am still unwed, poor and have never dated a professional athlete of any sort.

I’ve had my wedding day planned in my head since I forced GI Joe and Barbie to say “I do.” I thought it was normal to have a play-by-play of the special day… even without a suitor. But as I progressed through college and gained some professional and relationship experience, it seems that all of the girls that never planned for marriage… are now married.

So, people may think that my obsession with marriage stems from envy or pressure instilled by the parentals but I don’t want to get married because of peer-pressure or because my hypothetical “clock is ticking.” I want to get married for the marriage… for the lives that I hope to bring into this world. So, with that long winded introduction, here are my 5 reasons I want to get married.

  1. A Big Commitment. The biggest commitment that I have ever made, don’t laugh, is getting my dog Ranger. While the responsibility was initially supposed to be shared between me and Paul, may he rest in peace, I was forced to continue with our plan solo. Since the day I laid eyes on Ranger I was in love and never looked back. But as far as relationships, I have never crossed the boundary of spouse. I have never taken an international trip with a boyfriend or completely merged my life with someone. I know that when the time and the person is right, I will say those two words I forced Barbie and GI Joe to say twenty years ago- “I do.” Marriage is the highest commitment you can give to the one you love and I only plan on making that commitment one time so I have to make sure it’s right!
  2. Life Companion. Being single is fun and you learn a lot about yourself but at the end of the day all of the professional successes and personal conquests don’t matter because at the end of the day… you are alone. I have prayed endlessly for God to guide me to a life companion. Someone I can share the good, the bad and the ugly with. Someone who will be my support system, my rock and my glue. Someone to build memories and a life with. I have met many eligible candidates but I refuse to settle when it comes to my future. Like I said, I am only saying “I do” once.
  3. Tradition. I may not be the most well-mannered lady and at some stages in life lived a very unconventional lifestyle but my values are strangely very traditional. Marriage is a tradition that is meant to stand the test of time. A wedding is not just a public confirmation of your love but it is a profession in front of God. That in itself means the world to me! Take away the dress, the gorgeous ring, the presents, the music, the food and the beautiful venue… a wedding is a moment when you can tell the world you have found your soul mate and that you are starting a new life and a family together. There is no other tradition shared between two people that is that powerful!
  4. Offspring. Speaking of creating a family, I have this innate desire to be a mother. Don’t get me wrong, I need time to fully prepare my mind, body and bank account before my baby fever can be a reality but God willing, I cannot wait to add another title to my resume… mother. Finding your soul mate and life companion is step one. Step two is establishing your lives together. Step three (after house and financial stability) is starting a family.
  5. Love. I have been in love many times. Whether it was puppy love or toxic love, my heart has felt virtually everything… except the unconditional love that is shared between husband and wife. It may sound strange but it is almost scary to think that someone, hopefully, one day will look me in my eyes and ask me to spend the rest of my life with them. It’s scary because it’s a lot of pressure. If I say yes, they are stuck with me- forever. Through good, bad, crazy and insane moments. I guess it’s more scary for them than me but the point is for someone to ask you to marry them, that is their announcement to you and the world that they choose you- forever. They love you that much that they want to share the rest of their life on Earth and for eternity with YOU.

I can’t wait to be blessed with the person that chooses me!

Leave a comment